历史和观光

利马索尔-库里安考古遗址

岛上最精彩的考古遗址之一,库里安曾是一个重要的城邦。目前,挖掘工作正逐渐揭示出令人惊异的新宝藏。

尤其引人注目的是壮观华丽的“希腊罗马剧院”。库里安还有珍宝无数,包括以精致马赛克地面装饰的美丽别墅群,以及一个早期基督教教堂。


利马索尔库里安的森林之神阿波罗圣所和神庙

坐落于库里安古城以西约 2.5 公里处,森林之神阿波罗圣所是塞浦路斯的主要宗教中心之一,塞浦路斯把阿波罗视为 Hylates,森林之神。

这个功能完备的塞浦路斯建筑群可使人们对塞浦路斯乡村圣所的发展有所了解,从岛上“青铜时代”至异教世界的终结。主要有三大建筑时期。“古圣所”主要是在公元前 7 世纪发展起来的,而“托勒密圣所”则属于公元前 3 世纪。最后,“罗马圣所”可追溯至公元 1 世纪。

帕福斯 - 国王们的墓地

“国王们的墓地”位于帕福斯西北墓地群近海处。其名称来自于墓地的规模和华贵 - 有些墓主人可能属于帕福斯贵族,而非因为是王室成员埋葬于此。墓地由巨石切割而成,可追溯至古希腊和罗马早期。部分墓地仿照生者的房屋模式,有房屋(墓室 隔间)通向列柱中庭。它们与在亚历山德里亚发现的墓地类似,表明两座城市在古希腊时期联系密切。

帕福斯 - Petra tou Romiou - 爱神之石

这个有趣的巨石地理构造位于帕福斯区的西南岸,是塞浦路斯最富盛名的自然景区之一,以阿芙洛狄忒,希腊的爱神和美神命名。

据传说,这个美丽非常的景点正是爱神从波浪中诞生之地,充满泡沫的海水托着贝壳上的爱神上岸,因此这里的岩石被命名为“爱神之石”或希腊语 ‘Petra tou Romiou’。希腊名称,Petra tou Romiou,“希腊之石”与传说中的拜占庭英雄 Digenis Akritas 有关,他利用自己的神力阻止狂暴的撒拉逊人上岸。据说他将一块巨石抛入海中,摧毁了敌人的船只。

拉纳卡堡

拉纳卡堡位于 ‘Phoinikoudes’corniche’ 南端海岸,可能是在詹姆斯一世 (1382 -1398) 执政时期建立的,用以保护城市港口。其原始形状不为人知,但该城堡似乎曾是方塔形状。在 1625 年土耳其帝国时期重建,在英国统治的头几年间用作监狱。现在的拉纳卡堡 (Larnaca) 是不同时期形成的方形建筑,中间有一个院子。城堡北侧的入口处有一个两层建筑,可能是土耳其帝国时期的遗迹。该古老建筑与南部的其它原始城堡连接,以东是 一面石墙。城堡中的许多房间用作博物馆,展出与其悠久历史有关的物品。庭院用作文化活动,特别是在夏季。

拉纳卡- Agios Lazaros 教堂

位于拉纳卡 (Larnaca) 中心,宏伟的 Agios Lazaros 10 世纪初石教堂是塞浦路斯仍然健在的拜占庭纪念性建筑之一,非常重要。该教堂是拜占庭皇帝里奥六世所建,用以将圣址转移到君士坦丁堡。该教堂位于 Agios Lazaros(是耶稣基督复活的朋友)墓地上方,Agios Lazaros 在公元 33 年来到古 Kition,并成为那里的首位主教和守护神。这个墓地及其它大理石石棺和箱形坟墓是在考古中发掘出的,可看见教堂密室内部。

这个东正教教堂的三个凸出拱顶以及原始的钟楼已损坏,可能是在奥斯曼统治初期将教堂改为清真寺时人为破坏的。标志性的拜占庭艺术建筑和独特的巴洛克木雕镶金箔圣像在 1782 年完工,并保留至今。

尼科西亚 - Faneromeni 教堂

于 1872 年建造完成,位于古城墙内,曾是尼科西亚 (Nicosia) 最大的教堂。教堂西面的大理石陵墓包括 1821 年奥斯曼处死的主教和神父的墓地遗址。

尼科西亚 - 大主教宫

宗教性、国家性和政治性纪念建筑,“老大主教宫”是 18 世纪的两层结构,位于尼科西亚中心区,与现代塞浦路斯历史关系密切。在宫殿旁边是新的大主教宫,一个两层石质建筑,展现了新拜占庭风格,其中有大主教管区 办公室和大主教宅邸。该宫殿是由大主教马卡里奥斯三世在 1956 至1960 年督建而成,也是拜占庭博物馆和大主教图书馆所在地。自从新的大主教宫建成之后,老大主教宫就改为民间艺术博物馆和国家斗争博物馆。

资产搜索

Banners

Travel
Globalserve Consultants Ltd
Dinos Antoniou & Co Ltd
skyscrapers

Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved. Designed and Developed by mmVirtual

History & Sightseeing

Limassol - Kourion Archaeological Site

One of the most spectacular archaeological sites on the island, Kourion was an important city kingdom where excavations continue to reveal impressive new treasures. Noted particularly for its magnificent Greco - Roman Theatre, Kourion is also proud home to stately villas with exquisite mosaic floors and an early Christian Basilica among other treasures.

Limassol - The Sanctuary and Temple of Apollo Hylates at Kourion

Situated about 2,5 kilometres west of the ancient city of Kourion, the Sanctuary of Apollo Hylates was one of the principal religious centres of Cyprus where Apollo was worshipped as Hylates, god of the woodlands.

This well - defined architectural complex in Cyprus offers insight into the development of a Cypriot rural sanctuary from the Bronze Age through to the end of paganism on the island. There were three fairly distinct building periods. The Archaic Sanctuary developed essentially in the 7th century B.C. while the Ptolemaic Sanctuary belongs to the 3rd century BC. Finally, the Roman Sanctuary dates to the 1st century A.D.

Pafos - Tombs of the Kings

The “Tombs of the Kings” are situated close to the sea in the north western necropolis of Pafos (Paphos). They owe their name to their size and splendour – some probably belonged to the Pafian aristocracy, and not because royalty was buried there. They are rock cut and date to the Hellenistic and early Roman periods. Some of them imitate the houses of the living, with the rooms (here the burial chambers) opening onto a peristyle atrium. They are similar to tombs found in Alexandria, demonstrating the close relations between the two cities during the Hellenistic period.

Pafos - Petra tou Romiou - Rock of Aphrodite

This interesting geological formation of huge rocks off the southwest coast in the Pafos (Paphos) district forms one of the most impressive natural sites of Cyprus associated with Aphrodite, the Greek goddess of love and beauty.

According to legend, this strikingly beautiful spot is where Aphrodite rose from the waves and the foaming sea and was then escorted on a shell at the rocks known as ‘Rock ofAphrodite’ or ‘Petra tou Romiou’ in Greek. The Greek name, Petra tou Romiou, “the Rock of the Greek”, is associated with the legendary Byzantine hero, Digenis Akritas, who kept the marauding Saracens at bay with his amazing strength. It is said that he heaved a huge rock into the sea, destroying the enemy's ships.

Larnaka Fort

Larnaka (Larnaca) Fort stands on the shore at the south end of ‘Phoinikoudes’corniche and was probably built during the reign of James I (1382 -1398) to protect the town’s harbour. Its original shape remains unknown, but the fort appears to have had the form of a square tower. Rebuilt in 1625 during the Ottoman period, it was used as a prison in the first years of British rule. The present day fort of Larnaka (Larnaca) is a square building of different eras, with a courtyard in the centre. At the entrance of the fort on the north side is a two - storey building, probably of the Ottoman period. It is joined to earlier parts of the original fort in the south and east by a stone wall. Many rooms of the fort are used as a museum, exhibiting items related to its long history. The courtyard is used for cultural events, especially during summer.

Larnaka - Agios Lazaros Church

Situated in the centre of Larnaka (Larnaca), the magnificent early 10th century stone church of Agios Lazaros is one of the most important surviving Byzantine monuments of Cyprus. It was built by Byzantine Emperor Leo VI in exchange for the transfer of the Saint's relic to Constantinople. The church lies over the tomb of Agios Lazaros, the resurrected friend of Jesus Christ who came to ancient Kition in 33 AD and became its first Bishop and Patron Saint. The tomb, along with other marble sarcophagi and box - shaped tombs brought to light during excavations, can be seen inside the church crypt.

The three imposing domes of this Orthodox Basilica Church and the original bell tower were destroyed, probably in the first years of Ottoman rule when the church was turned into a mosque. The brilliant byzantine artistry of the icons and the unique baroque woodcarving of the gold covered iconostasis were completed in 1782 and have survived until today.

Lefkosia - Faneromeni Church

Built in 1872 within the old city walls, this used to be the largest church in Lefkosia (Nicosia). The marble mausoleum to the east of the church contains the relics of the bishops and priests executed by the Ottomans in 1821.

Lefkosia - Archbishop's Palace

A religious, national and political monument, the Old Archbishop’s Palace is an 18th century two - storey building in the heart of Lefkosia (Nicosia) that is closely associated with modern Cypriot history. Next to it is the new Archbishop’s Palace, a two - storey stone building in Neo - Byzantine style housing the offices of the archdiocese and the residence of the archbishop. It was built by Archbishop Makarios III between 1956 and 1960 and also houses the Byzantine Museum and the Library of the Archbishopric. Since the completion of the new Archbishopric, the Old Archbishop’s Palace has housed the Folk Art Museum and the National Struggle Museum.

Property Search

Banners

Travel
Globalserve Consultants Ltd
Dinos Antoniou & Co Ltd
skyscrapers

Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved. Designed and Developed by mmVirtual